10 Facts about

Kansas City Chiefs

Kansas City Chiefs are a professional American football team based in Kansas City, Missouri.

The team was founded in 1959 as the Dallas Texans by businessman Lamar Hunt, and was a charter member of the American Football League (AFL).

In spring 1963, the team relocated to Kansas City, and assumed its current name, Kansas City Chiefs.

The Chiefs compete in the National Football League (NFL) as a member club of the league's American Football Conference (AFC) West division.

The Chiefs joined the NFL as a result of the merger in 1970, and the team is valued at over $3.7 billion.

The Chiefs won three (AFL) American Football Championships in 1962, 1966, and 1969.

The team is owned by Hunt family, and  its current CEO is Clark Hunt who is the son of  Lamar Hunt.

In 1959, Lamar Hunt began discussions with other businessmen to establish a professional football league that would rival the National Football League.

Hunt's desire to secure a football team was heightened after watching the 1958 NFL Championship Game between the New York Giants and Baltimore Colts.

Today, Kansas City Chiefs is one of the most popular teams, having won 526 times all-time.